Published Political Essay!

I’ve been political as long as I can recall. I fomented dissent in the 6th grade, recited a subversive version of the pledge of allegiance in 8th, and I went to a Quaker college in no small part due to their long history of promoting social justice. Guilford College has long been proud of its role in the Underground Railroad.

While there, I was keyed into a lot of eye-opening socio-political ideas. I got a student subscription to The Nation and Harpers. When those ran out, I sought new issues in the library.

It’s sorta odd, then, that I didn’t study journalism or political science. There are reasons for that, but what’s important are the actions I take today.

Media and Power

Today, I am happy to announce that I have published a political essay in The Big Smoke. It’s titled “Binary Trending,” and it’s about the intersection of media and power. It takes a look at the individual’s role and how even the best-intended can find their online activities used for purposes they did not foresee – such as the election of the very worst human being to the most powerful office in the nation, if not world.

I hope you’ll read the essay and give it a thought. As citizens we need to be aware of how we use online tools. Our voices are being broadcast, but we don’t necessarily control how they are amplified…

Author: Hobie

I am an author living in Portland, Oregon. My first novel Silverfish is a dystopian, literary science fiction that will appeal to lovers of Philip K Dick, China Mieville, William Gibson, and HP Lovecraft. It's also been favorably compared to local literary heroes, Katherine Dunn and Chuck Palahniuk. I also love taking photos, playing disc golf, and pretending to surf in the chilly Pacific water.

Leave a comment